Wildlife Conservation Committee

Wildlife Conservation Committee Mission

The Wildlife Conservation Committee, formerly the Field Conservation Committee, provides assistance to all AZA institutions in order for them to engage in effective and sustained wildlife and habitat conservation.

Committee members: 

  • Seek to engage 100% of the AZA membership in field conservation, as evidenced through submissions to AZA’s annual field conservation survey.
  • Administer AZA SAFE through WCC-member liaisons working with each SAFE Species program, reviewing program proposals and conservation plans, and providing feedback to AZA’s Board of Directors.
  • Mentor AZA members as they expand, change, and/or develop their conservation programs.

Thomas Stalf, Columbus Zoo and Aquarium

Rachel Metz, Smithsonian National Zoological Park

IUCN Representatives
Robert Lacy, Ph.D., Conservation Planning Specialist Group (CPSG)
Kira Mileham, Ph.D., IUCN Species Survival Commission (IUCN/SSC)

Ruth Allard, Phoenix Zoo
Claire Martin, Disney Conservation Fund
Tara Stoinski, Ph.D., Dian Fossey Gorilla Fund International

Board Liaison
Mark Penning, BVsc, Disney's Animal Kingdom

AZA Staff Liaison
Shelly Grow

Richard Bergl, Ph.D., North Carolina Zoo
Tim Brown, Tracy Aviary
Kyle Burks, Ph.D., Audubon Zoo
Paul Calle, V.M.D., Bronx Zoo
Christina Castellano, Ph.D., HawkWatch International
Kevin Drees, Oklahoma City Zoological Park
Jeff Ettling, Ph.D., Sedgwick County Zoo
Lisa Faust, Ph.D., Lincoln Park Zoo
Dino Ferri, Central Florida Zoo
Tara Harris, Ph.D., Phoenix Zoo
Charles Knapp, Ph.D., John G. Shedd Aquarium
Gregory Koch, Ph.D.
Jody Palmer, Brevard Zoo
Graeme Patterson, Denver Zoo
Will Pitt, Ph.D., Smithsonian National Zoological Park
Peter Riger, Houston Zoo
Tracy Romano, Ph.D., Mystic Aquarium
Estelle Sandhaus, Ph.D., Santa Barbara Zoo
Beth Schaefer, Los Angeles Zoo and Botanical Gardens
Matt Seguin, Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium
William Street
Roger Sweeney, North Carolina Zoo
Tim Tetzlaff, Naples Zoo
Becca Wyatt, Zoo Knoxville
Anna Young, Ph.D., Otterbein University

Find a Zoo or Aquarium Donate to AZA Contact Us Member Login Search the site