Tim O'Sullivan Award for Professional Development

The Tim O'Sullivan Award for Professional Development recognizes significant long-term individual achievement and service to AZA members through the AZA Professional Development Program and the AZA Professional Development Committee. Only one recipient can be honored in any given year and, since the award criteria are lofty, it is anticipated that the award will not be given every year.


Service is broadly interpreted to include direct participation and outstanding achievement in instruction, course creation and support, program development and administration (Professional Development Committee), and/or essential administrative support.

The best candidate would demonstrate outstanding contributions in one or more of the following categories:

  • course service (instruction, management, creation)
  • program service (administration, improvement of program)
  • significant academic or logistical service (academic or site partners)

Nominees must have a minimum of ten years service to the AZA Professional Development Schools. Current Professional Development Committee members are not eligible. Past Professional Development Committee members may be nominated one full year after completing their last term of service.

Nomination Process

Nominations are due to the chair of the Professional Development Committee via the AZA office by June 1 each year. Nominations will be discussed fully and confidentially by the Professional Development Committee. If an award is made, results will be announced during the honors and awards ceremony at the AZA Annual Conference.

Nominations must be supported by two AZA members, one of whom is a current PDC member. Please use this form to submit a nomination.

I Accept

This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. If you continue using our website, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website and you agree to our Privacy Policy.