The Devra Kleiman Scientific Advancement Award

First Award presented posthumously to Devra Kleiman in 2014 at the AZA Annual Conference in Orlando.

In March 2014, the Association of Zoos and Aquariums (AZA) established an award to recognize outstanding scientific research contributions to the field(s) of animal management, education, and/or conservation within the AZA-accredited zoo and aquarium community. This award, named for its first recipient Devra Kleiman, honors an individual’s long-term commitment to using science-based research and mentoring others to advance the zoo and aquarium profession.  Only one recipient can be honored in any given year, and since the award criteria are lofty, it is anticipated that the award will not be given every year. 

Nominations are due on June 16, 2023.

Devra Kleiman Award Nomination Guidelines (PDF)


Oliver Ryder, Ph.D., Director of Conservation Genetics, San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance

Robert Lacy, Ph.D., Senior Conservation Scientist Emeritus, Chicago Zoological Society

Posthumously to Michael Hutchins, Ph.D.

Kathy Carlstead, Ph.D.

Jonathan D. Ballou, Ph.D., Research Scientist Emeritus, Smithsonian Institution

Cheryl S. Asa, Ph.D., Director of Research, Saint Louis Zoo

Posthumously to Devra Kleiman

I Accept

This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. If you continue using our website, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website and you agree to our Privacy Policy.