Message to Current and Potential Inspectors

Service as an accreditation inspector is a huge responsibility and requires a tremendous amount of work. Inspectors are a critical part of the accreditation process. AZA, and every institution it has accredited, relies on inspectors to do a thorough job and make an unbiased evaluation based upon accreditation standards and modern zoological practices and philosophies.

In addition to having professional expertise and sufficient experience, inspectors must be willing to follow instructions, study hard in advance, allow sufficient time and have sufficient patience to inspect, be capable of making tough decisions if necessary, remain impartial, and maintain complete confidentiality. The report and recommendations each team provides to the Accreditation Commission are an integral part of the process, and the list of concerns that each team generates provides an institution with a clear outline of items that must be successfully addressed before accreditation can be considered.

While the inspectors themselves do not determine whether an institution is ultimately accredited or not (that is the decision of the Accreditation Commission), inspectors serve as the "eyes and ears" of the Commission, and create a guide for professional improvement. AZA is grateful to all the experts who participate in this important process! Please visit the profiles of our Accreditation Inspectors of the Year.

Accreditation Inspector's Handbook

Visiting Committee Members may download the Inspector's Handbook (PDF) or contact the AZA office at 301-562-0777 to receive a copy.


The Inspector's Application Form may be submitted in either hard copy or electronic format. To submit the application via mail or fax, please click here. To submit the application electronically via email, please click here.

Summer 2022 Accreditation Inspectors

A big thank you . . .

Image of AZA Inspectors in front of aquarium exhibitEach year, many professional colleagues volunteer their time to assist the Accreditation Commission by conducting accreditation inspections and certification inspections. Although the COVID-19 pandemic has temporarily and dramatically altered where and how we work, there are foundational elements of our accreditation program that we cannot change without compromising the integrity of our process. On-site inspections are one of these cornerstones. Without the willingness and dedication of our volunteer inspectors, this aspect of our program would not have been able to move forward during these trying times. We owe a special level of gratitude to those brave individuals who have selflessly participated in on-site inspections in order to keep our accreditation program moving forward despite the increased risks associated with the pandemic this past year.

Denny Lewis
Senior Vice President, Accreditation Programs

Jennifer DiNenna
Director, Accreditation Programs

Cheri Bermudez
Accreditation Programs Coordinator

Ashley Pritchard
Program Assistant, Accreditation Programs

Our Summer 2022 AZA Accreditation Inspectors
Steve Aibel
Lance Adams, DVM
Schanee Anderson
Tony Barthel
Rich Bergl, PhD
Ann Marie Bisagno
Bruce Bohmke
Chris Bonar, VMD (2 times)
Laura Bottaro
Michelle Bowman, DVM
Jon Brangan
Nancy Carpenter, DVM (2 times)
Bert Castro
Barrett Christie
Vickie Clyde, DVM
Rob Coke, DVM
Hollie Colahan
Kim Cook, DVM
Terrie Correll
Linda Criss
Jennifer D'Agostino, DVM
Joseph Darcangelo
Becky DeWitz
Jamie Dorgan
Kevin Drees
Brian DuVall
Harrison Edell
Jeff Ettling, PhD
Liz Evans
Jeff Ewelt
Norah Fletchall
Deidre Fontenot, DVM
Chris Gentile
Jesse Gilbert
Jeremy Goodman, DVM (2 times)
Karen Goodrowe-beck, PhD
Pam Govett, DVM
David Griffin
David Hagan
Tara Harrison, DVM
Jessica Hoffman
Stephanie Huettner
Courtney Janney
Sharon Joseph
Jen Kilburn, DVM
Andi Kornak
Karl Kranz
Maureen Leahy
Terry Lincoln
Brett Long
Keith Lovett
Gary Lunsford
Aaron Marshall
Chris Massaro
Nancy McToldridge
Tom Meehan, DVM
Rachel Metz
Mike McClure
Don Moore, PhD
Amos Morris
Danny Munoz
Kevin Murphy
Mike Murray, DVM
Mike Nance, DVM
Luis Padilla, DVM (2 times)
David Peranteau
Gary Pettit
Chris Pfefferkorn
Doug Piekarz
Craig Piper
Vernon Presley
Sean Putney
Mike Quick
Jan Raines, DVM
Ed Ramsay, DVM
Amy Roberts
Jeff Sailer
Anne Shimerdla
Joe Smith, DVM
Meg Sutherlan-Smith, DVM
Cindy Stadler, DVM
Roger Sweeney
Clint Taylor
Steve Taylor
Rich Toth
Alan Tousignant
Allison Tuttle, DVM
Sue Tygielski, PhD
Carrie Ullmer, DVM
Bill Van Bonn, DVM
Kris Vehrs
Pat Waickman
John Walczak
Jim Wharton
Maylon White
Doug Whiteside, DVM
Chuck Wikenhauser (2 times)
Michelle Willette, DVM
Sandy Wilson, DVM
Jeff Wyatt, DVM (3 times)
Rebecca Young
Sam Young, DVM
Keith Zdrojewski
I Accept

This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. If you continue using our website, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website and you agree to our Privacy Policy.