Government Affairs Committee

Government Affairs Committee Mission

  • Protects AZA's position on regulatory and legislative matters on behalf of its members
  • Serves as an advocate for AZA members by assisting and influencing U.S. agencies as well as Capitol Hill in the development of effective governmental policies relating to the zoo and aquarium's industries

John Calvelli, Bronx Zoo

Kerston Swartz, Woodland Park Zoo

Jennifer Baader, Chicago Zoological Society - Brookfield Zoo
Billy Brennan, Saint Louis Zoo
John Chapo, Lincoln Children's Zoo
Gregg Dancho, Connecticut's Beardsley Zoo
Andrea Densham, John G. Shedd Aquarium
Christie Eddie, Omaha's Henry Doorly Zoo & Aquarium
Nilda Ferrer, Wildlife Conservation Society
Phillip Frost, BREC's Baton Rouge Zoo
Shervin Hess, Oregon Zoo
Marybeth Johnson, Lincoln Park Zoo
Laura Klopfer, Friends of the National Zoo
Amy Lazoff, Fort Wayne Children's Zoo
Danni Logue, Jenkinson's Aquarium
Dan Maloney, Jacksonville Zoo and Gardens
Kenneth Mitchell, Staten Island Zoo
David Oehler, Nashville Zoo, Inc.
Sean Putney, Kansas City Zoo
Scott Shoemaker, Sunset Zoological Park
Robert Vasquez, Toledo Zoo & Aquarium
Rebecca Young, Zoo Atlanta

Lynn McDuffie, Disney's Animal Kingdom

Board Liaison
Richard Block, Santa Barbara Zoological Gardens

AZA Staff Liaisons
Jennifer Keaton
Steve Olson

I Accept

This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. If you continue using our website, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website and you agree to our Privacy Policy.

Find a Zoo or Aquarium Donate to AZA Contact Us Member Login Search the site