Animal Health Committee

Animal Health Committee Mission

  • Ensures high quality and comprehensive animal health care in all AZA institutions
  • Drafts and reviews health related guidelines and policies as requested by the AZA Board, SAGS and AZA programs
  • Responds to emerging diseases issues by drafting protocols, guidelines and recommendations for AZA institutions
  • Provides review of research or conservation proposals for CGF and other granting bodies and works with the Accreditation Commission on development and/or review of health related accreditation standards
  • Acts as a liaison between AZA, AAZV, and animal health regulatory agencies, such as USDA and CDC
  • Oversees the Veterinary Advisors Group, a subcommittee of the AHC that provides general support and guidance to SSP and TAG veterinary advisors, appoints and certifies the advisors, and establishes performance standards

Darin Collins, Woodland Park Zoo

Sharon Deem, D.V.M., Ph.D., Dipl. A.C.Z.M., Saint Louis Zoo

Board Liaison
Mark Penning, Disney's Animal Kingdom

AZA Staff Liaison
Steve Olson

Committee Members
Michael Adkesson, Chicago Zoological Society - Brookfield Zoo
Heidi Bissell, SeaWorld Parks and Entertainment
Copper Aitken-Palmer, Ph.D., D.V.M., Dipl. A.C.Z.M, CZS (R&E SAG Liaison)
Marietta Dindo Danforth, Zoo Atlanta
Louis DiVincenti, Seneca Park Zoo
Tina Dow, University of Central Florida
Alfonso Lopez, D.V.M., Dolphin Island
Monica McDonald, Saint Louis Zoo  (Reproductive Management Center Liaison)
Randi Meyerson, Toledo Zoo
Anneka Moresco, Denver Zoo
Gwen Myers, Zoo Miami
Laura Peirson, Columbus Zoo and Aquarium
Kristin Spring, Oregon Zoo
John Sykes, D.V.M., Bronx Zoo
Clint Taylor, North Carolina Aquarium at Pine Knoll Shores
Allison Tuttle, D.V.M., Dipl. A.C.Z.M., Mystic Aquarium
Michelle Willette, The Raptor Center

I Accept

This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. If you continue using our website, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website and you agree to our Privacy Policy.

Find a Zoo or Aquarium Donate to AZA Contact Us Member Login Search the site