Conservation Education Committee

« Back to Committees


Conservation Education Committee Mission

  • Strengthens and promotes conservation education programs for the public
  • Provides leadership and professional development opportunities for AZA educators
  • Disseminates pertinent information to the education liaisons at AZA institutions throughout North America through its Regional Communication Plan, quarterly newsletter and yearly calendar


Carrie Chen, Aquarium of the Bay

Vice Chairs:

Ruth Allard, Phoenix Zoo
Danielle Ross, Columbus Zoo and Aquarium

Board Liaison:

Steve Burns, Zoo Boise

Staff Liaison:

Nette Pletcher


Robyn Charlton, Wildlife Conservation Society
James Danoff-Burg, San Diego Zoo Global
Stacy Graison, Zoo Atlanta
Kevin Hils, Wildlife Conservation Society
Aimee Johns, Lincoln Chlidren's Zoo
Shellie Kalmore, Busch Gardens Tampa Bay
Christine Kornhak, Cleveland Metroparks Zoo
Danni Logue, Jenkinson's Aquarium
Kelly Matis, Mystic Aquarium
Amy Miller, California Academy of Sciences
Karen Povey, Point Defiance Zoo and Aquarium
Chance Sanford, Houston Zoo
Kelly Ulrich, Potawatomi Zoo
Jim Wharton, Seattle Aquarium
Leanne White, Greenville Zoo


Allyson Atkins, Disney's Animal Kingdom - past chair
Louise Bradshaw, Saint Louis Zoo
Randy Fulk, North Carolina Zoo
Shareen Knowlton, Roger Williams Park Zoo
Dennis Laidler, Potter Park Zoo
Kerry Carlin Morgan, Oregon Coast Aquarium
Peggy Sloan, North Carolina Aquarium at Fort Fisher