Accreditation Commission

« Back to Committees


Accreditation Commission Mission

  • Establishes, upholds and raises the highest zoological and aquarium industry standards.
  • Reviews applications for accreditation and certification, conducts interviews, identifies concerns, and evaluates the information in order to make final decisions.
  • Monitors accredited institutions, maintains and writes professional standards, and provides mentoring, training and guidance.


Jim Anderson, Fort Wayne Children's Zoo


Gary Geddes, Point Defiance Zoo & Aquarium and Northwest Trek Wildlife Park


Jackson Andrews, Tennessee Aquarium

Bill Bryant, DVM, Sedgwick County Zoo

C.J. Casson, Seattle Aquarium

Glenn Dobrogosz, Greensboro Science Center

Dwight Lawson, PhD, Zoo Atlanta

Nancy McToldridge, Santa Barbara Zoological Gardens

Tom Meehan, DVM, Brookfield Zoo

Mike Murray, DVM, Monterey Bay Aquarium

Pat Simmons, Akron Zoo

Chuck Wikenhauser, Milwaukee County Zoological Gardens


Ed Diebold, Riverbanks Zoo & Garden

Donald Moore III, PhD, Smithsonian National Zoo

Jeff Wyatt, DVM, Seneca Park Zoo

Board Liaison

Jim Breheny, Wildlife Conservation Society

Elephant TAG Liaison

Bruce Bohmke, Woodland Park Zoo

AZA Staff Liaisons

Kris Vehrs, Executive Director

Denny Lewis, VP, Accreditation Programs

Jennifer DiNenna, Manager, Accreditation